VANLIFE Update #8

Like I said in the last post, phase 1 of the build on our van ‘Ghostrider’ is basically done. We did finish tinting the windows since my last update. This was my first DIY attempt at window tint, and the 2 rolls of tint I used cost ~$32 total. It was definitely a learning experience, and really kind of a pain in the rear, at least for me. We probably didn’t have optimum equipment for the job. Having a heat gun definitely helps for sure. We got a few little tears on a couple of windows, and definitely a few bubbles. I think we were actually doing pretty good by the end, the last of the 4 windows we did looked pretty decent. I have to give a big shoutout to Mrs. Walter on this one, she really figured out the technique and what works, and she had the patience to keep on working on it. I was frustrated and ready to throw in the towel! So we got it done, it’s functional and it really looks mostly good from outside especially. I think in the end for what we spent on tint it wouldn’t have cost a lot more to have it professionally done, and it would have been perfect. So my final recommendation is to just have your tint professionally done if you’re picky and don’t have experience. If you DIY you’ll get it eventually, but be prepared to mess up and live with it or pull off the tint and try again. All you’ll need is some tint and a squirt bottle with soapy water and a plastic squeegee thing. And a heat gun, the heat gun helps a lot. Coming up pretty soon I’ll be doing a big time real world test of the full capabilities of the van as it’s currently outfitted. All I can say right now is we’re going on a road trip, and we’ll be following part of the route from National Lampoon’s Vacation. My own personal goal of what I’m looking for on this trip is stickers! We added a Yellowstone National Park sticker from our last big Bushcraft and Camping adventure. I know we didn’t take the van, but we did drive a white GMC so I think it’s acceptable. I also added a DX Engineering sticker just because I had one, adds 10 horsepower don’t you know? It does represent a build part. I’m hoping to find some Kamp Komfort swag on our journey. We are still prepping for the trip but I think the vehicle is GTG. I’ll be doing a few final checks here just to make sure nothing obvious is going to go south on us. So that’s about it for this update. Keep on trucking’! Or in our case, vanning.

Author: Boris the Blade parody

Aka Boris the Blade parody troll account on Twitter. @eurotec007

Leave a comment